2018 Frances Lankin Awards

About the Award

The Frances Lankin Award was established in 2011 by Social Planning Toronto on the occasion of Frances Lankin’s retirement from United Way Toronto. It is awarded annually to an individual who has made a significant, sustained contribution to the non-profit community sector in the City of Toronto.

Frances Lankin was CEO of the United Way Toronto for over 10 years. Now a Senator in Canada's Parliament, her 11 year Legislative career included serving as Minister of Government Services and Chair of Management Board, Minister of Health and Long Term Care, Minister of Economic Development and Trade, and the MPP for Beaches—East York.

Previous years' recipients include Liane Regendanz, Charlotte Maher, Rob Howarth, Kay Blair, Colin Hughes, Heather McGregor, Debbie Douglas, Sunder Singh, and Debbie Field. Please join us at our celebration and reception as we present the awards.

Want to become a Partner Sponsor? Click here to read more about sponsoring this event.


Our reception this year will take place at Mattamy Athletic Centre, formerly Maple Leaf Garden. Now converted into a multi-use athletic facility, the building has maintained its historic charm while hosting a variety of new events.

June 18, 2018

Mattamy Athletic Centre

50 Carlton St.
Tickets are $40.

RSVP and Purchase tickets



We are thrilled to announce that Deena Ladd is the recipient of the Frances Lankin Lifetime Achievement Award.

  Deena Ladd

Lifetime Achievement Award

For over two decades, Deena Ladd has built the Workers’ Action Centre with an uncompromising bottom-up approach to social justice, shed light on the changing reality of our labour market, and helped to mobilize a groundswell of support to update Ontario’s labour law for the first time in a generation.

We will be presenting the new Inspiring Leader Award to three outstanding young leaders.

  Hamdi Jimale

Inspiring Leader Award

Hamdi Jimale is a transformative and intelligent leader who works towards a youth-friendly and equitable Toronto. At 21, she has an impressive and growing list of accomplishments in her service to our city. Hamdi’s drive to do good, her commitment to her community, and her drive to advance the role of young Muslims in our city define her outstanding volunteerism and activism.

  Michael Prosserman

Inspiring Leader Award

Michael Prosserman is the founder of UNITY Charity, an organization that empowers youth to be role models and leaders in their communities through after school programs in break dancing, graffiti art, spoken word poetry and beat boxing. Having founded UNITY in highschool at the age of 16, Michael has used his vision, passion and optimism to build a talented, passionate team dedicated to taking the organization to the next level, reaching over 100,000 young people across Canada.

  Justin Wiebe

Inspiring Leader Award

Justin Wiebe is a Michif (Métis) young leader, originally from Saskatoon, Saskatchewan. Now a resident of Toronto, he works as a Capacity Building Specialist at the Ontario Trillium Foundation for their Youth Opportunities Fund. He infuses Indigenous ways of knowing into the nonprofit sector. Justin is always looking for innovative ways to connect people across different groups in order to foster collaboration. He consistently finds meaningful ways to bring people together, to hold difficult conversations and to build networks grounded in respect and friendship.


2018 Reception


Note: there is no physical 'ticket' associated with your purchase. Your name will be added to our list, and we will check you in at the event.

June 18, 2018 at 7pm - 8:45pm
Maria Serrano ·

Will you come?

$40.00 General Admission
General admission to the Frances Lankin Award Ceremony and Reception
© Copyright 2017-2020 Social Planning Toronto. All rights reserved.