Call for Nominations: The 2019 Frances Lankin Community Service Award



Toronto is a city of leaders. Our neighbourhoods and communities are shaped by people who inspire and connect us. Social Planning Toronto honours these extraordinary individuals with our Frances Lankin Award. 


About the Award

SPT established the Frances Lankin Award in 2011 on the occasion of Frances Lankin’s retirement from United Way Toronto. The Award recognizes two individuals — one for Lifetime Achievement, and one for Inspiring Leadership — who have made significant, transformative contributions to Toronto's non-profit community service sector.

Frances Lankin was CEO of the United Way Toronto for over 10 years. Now a Senator in Canada's Parliament, her 11-year Legislative career included serving as Minister of Government Services and Chair of Management Board, Minister of Health and Long Term Care, Minister of Economic Development and Trade, and the MPP for Beaches–East York.

Previous years' recipients include Liane Regendanz, Charlotte Maher, Rob Howarth, Kay Blair, Colin Hughes, Heather McGregor, Debbie Douglas, and Deena Ladd (pictured above). 


headshot_mikey.jpg IMG_0629_copy.jpg image1.jpeg

Michael Prosserman, Hamdi Jamale, and Justin Wiebe, Co-Recipients of the 2018 Inspiring Leadership Award


About the Nominations Process

Nominations are now open for the 2019 Award, and can be made by any individual or organizational member of Social Planning Toronto. Deadline for nominations is April 26.

Click here to download the nomination form and criteria.

For more information, contact Maria Serrano, SPT's Director of Operations, at [email protected] or 416 351 0095 ext. 223.


Award Ceremony

June 18, 2019
6:30 PM

Central YMCA, 20 Grosvenor St.

RSVP here!


We are holding our Annual General Meeting ahead of the award ceremony, at 5:30 PM. Please be sure to RSVP for the AGM here »



© Copyright 2017-2020 Social Planning Toronto. All rights reserved.